quick post!

This will be a quick weekend post, as I still have to shower and head down to NJ for my friend Kellyn’s going-away party (she’s going to grad school in the U.K.!).

On Thursday morning, I realized I was a little sick of the standard cereal/yogurt breakfasts I’d been having for several days, so I treated myself to an egg-white and veggie omelette.  It came with two slices of whole wheat toast, only one of which I actually ate, and a cup of coffee.  I was also craving watermelon, so I bought a container of that.

I eat at this stupid desk way too often.

I eat at this stupid desk way too often.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And a close-up:

mmm... cheddar.

mmm... cheddar.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I came into the office on Thursday a whole *hour* early so I could meet my mom at Grand Central when her train came in at 4:40.  But I wish I didn’t, because…

Yes, that’s right.  There was a fire in my freaking building.  Around 4, our office facilities manager raced through the halls, muttering “Fire on the 8th floor!  Everyone evacuate!  Fire on the 8th floor!  Everyone evacuate!”  I was sort of really worried about her because she looked like she was going to pass out from anxiety. 

But it was strange because *all week* there had been people “testing the fire alarm system,” which basically meant that it went off a gazillion times.  Well, wouldn’t you know it, on Thursday there actually was a fire.  And who let us know?  Dolores.  I am glad our fire alarm system works so well.

Once out on the street, we gathered in groups and stared up at our building.  You could actually see some smoke; it was sort of cool.

"Can you see it?  Can you see it?  Can we leave now?"

"Can you see it? Can you see it? Can we go home now?"

 

Pump that sh*t

Pump that sh*t

At 4:20, my favorite art director declared that this was obviously a sign from God telling us it was time to call it a day.  Hey, I don’t argue with the big guy.

I met my mom at Grand Central and we decided to split an oatmeal raisin cookie from Oren’s Daily Roast.  Once plied with sugar and some sandwiches, we took off for the Open!

aren't we so cute?

aren't we so cute?

 

My mom is basically the coolest ever, and she had snuck in a tiny bottle of vodka and two cranberry juice boxes, so we got to mixing ourselves a drink 😎  Unfortunately, the sandwiches were pretty bland.  Oh, well — not every meal can be perfection.

First on at Arthur Ashe was Serena Williams,

blurry pic, sorry!

blurry pic, sorry!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

who won in a 58-minute, 6-1, 6-1 match.  But next… NEXT…

put your hands together for...

put your hands together for...

 

RAFA RAFA RAFA!

Guys, I was so excited I nearly peed myself.  Of course, we were halfway to the nosebleed seats (and only because we snuck down; our tickets actually were for the nosebleeds), so I could see him best on the jumbotron.  But still…

blurry again, sorry!

 

 

It was pretty darn cool.  Needless, to say, he dominated (it was only a 2nd-round match)

All in all, an excellent beginning to labor day weekend.

Enjoy yours!

Leave a comment